My Fave 5 Friday – Late Bustle Era Fashion Plates

It’s been a while since I have been able to do my Friday feature, but hopefully, I’m back on track. lol. With my up coming sewing projects being Victorian Late Bustle Era, I have decided to narrow down my 5 favorite fashion plates from that time frame. I found almost all of these on Pinterest (because, yeah, I live on Pinterest. Not even kidding about that!). Here they are:

#5 – Revue de la Mode 1886

Link found here
Image found here

 

The page that this was originally pinned from is no longer around, but I just love the dress on the left. Burgundy has always been one of my mainstay colors for my regular wardrobe, so the color really appeals to me. Plus, I love the pleats on the over skirt, as well as the printed underskirt.

#4 – Magasin des Demoiselles 1885 Walking dress

Image found here
Image found here

I absolutely love the dress on the left! The combination of red and blue! And that overskirt! The underskirt is just fabulous. I can’t decide if it’s embroidered, or cut out. This is one that is on my list to reproduce, some day. lol.

#3 – 1885 Nautical Fashion Plate

Image found here
Image found here

There are so many aspects of this dress that appeal to me. I love the nautical theme, and the stripes only make it better. The underskirt is just lovely, and the rest appears to be a polonaise style jacket over it, with the skirts bustled at the back and left side. I love the sleeve details, and the anchors on the tabs. The straw hat and parasol complete this outfit to perfection. This just may have to go on my “To Make” wishlist.

#2 – Late 1880’s Walking Dress with Fur Trim

Image Found Here
Image Found Here

What is thereĀ not to love about this dress? Seriously? I love the drape of the skirts, and the cut of the jacket gives just a hint of being masculine. But, the fur trim make the whole outfit very appealing. I don’t think I would’ve liked the same outfit without the fur.

And, finally….

#1 – Late 1880’s Striped Walking Dress

Image Found Here
Image Found Here

I have featured this fashion plate on my blog before, but the site that I originally found this one is no longer around. The moment I saw this one, I just knew that I had to recreate it. I instantly fell in love with the red and white stripes, and the underskirt. I have finally located fabric to attempt this one, now I just need to actually purchase said fabric. lol.

Do any of these plates call your inner Victorian? If so, please feel free to comment by clicking the heart at the top right corner of the post, and let me which ones you like. Or, do you have a favorite that I didn’t feature? If so, please let me know about it. I always love hearing from you. Also, be sure to follow me on Instagram , Facebook, and Twitter (links on the side bar) to follow the adventures that Jane and I have. Until next time….. Happy Sewing!

Leave a comment