What’s red & white, and Victorian all over?

A 1880’s Walking Dress!

*I found this image on this blog, one of my regular reads. ūüėČ

This is the inspiration for a costume mission. I fell in love with this dress the moment it appeared on my monitor. I knew in an instant that I wanted to recreate this dress. The stipes appealed to me, as well as the¬†design structure of the over and underskirts.¬†And so¬†begins the fabric hunt. As I shop, I’ll have to be on the look out for just the right red and white striped fabric, as well as the fabric for the underskirt, added ruffle cuffs and collar. Plus, it means that (if I haven’t done it by the time I am able to attempt this dress) I’ll have to make a bustle. Just by looking at the picture, I have started formulating on how I want to construct this. I will have to kind of wing it on the front of the bodice, as it’s not shown, but that’s no big deal. And, it appears that she is wearing striped stockings?? Since I really don’t want to hunt down or make striped stockings, I think I’ll take the options of making gaiters in the striped material. That way, I can match the buttons on the gaiters to any that I may use on the sleeve cuffs and/or down the front of the bodice. This one’s going to be fun!

In regular news, things have been on the busy side. We have had renovations at work that is full of sheet rock dust, paint fumes and carpet glue. I’m on call this weekend, so I get to come in bright and early Saturday morning to stupidvise supervise counter top installation. Hopefully, it won’t take more 4 or 5 hours, but¬†I do have some knitting to bring along. My neighbor had her baby this past weekend, and I am working up a few things to take over in a week or so, after they get a chance to settle in. It’s their first baby, and I want to give them some time to get used to her. Other than that, there has been very little sewing, lots of running and trying to find ways to squeeze in house cleaning. It’s slowly but surely getting there. Katie was supposed to have her marching band showcase this evening, but it has been cancelled due to rain, again. Tonight was a reschedule from last Thursday, when it rained. Well, at least I will have time to get some things done, like pick up 3 dozen cookies for tomorrow nights football game. It’s the juniors turn in the rotation to bring cookies for both bands to¬†enjoy during the 3rd quarter. Tomorrow, I get to play dress up at work! Last year, my company started a Halloween costume contest. I didn’t participate, as I had to drive a fork lift off and on during the day. But, this year we have interns to work the dock. This means I get to dress up as a Victorian Fairy! Here’s hoping I win one of the prizes. (I’ll post pics afterward.) So, tonight I get to go to sleep with my head covered in rollers. It’s been years since I’ve done that. lol. The next sewing project on deck will be a mens’¬†18th c.¬†ensemble for my hubby, and¬†a 18th c. gown for me. I have some time to work on these, as they are for the ball in February. We have decided to use the 18th c. theme again this year, as everyone is a little pinched for money. Making hoop skirts is a little on the expensive side right now, so the Civil War Ball has been postponed. But, we will get our Civil War fix when we visit Kent State in early December. They opened the Civil war exhibit in August, On The Home Front: Civil War Fashions and Domestic Life. We have been itching to go since we heard it was the next exhibit to open. Anywho! Have to run. Tons of things left to do today. Until next time, Happy Sewing!

Leave a Reply

