My Fave 5 Friday – WWI Era Fashion Inspiration

Since today is Armistice Day, Veteran’s Day here in the US, I thought I would share some of my favorite inspirations from the WWI era. Earlier this year, I was given some fabric and wanted to find something I could use it for. Now, I used to pass over this era, but after seeing the 1910’s pattern from Wearing History, this era caught my attention in a big way. The fabric did become my 1916 Suit, and I fell in love with an era I might never have explored otherwise. So, here are my top favorites I found while doing research.

#5 – A picture is worth a thousand words

This photo is just fabulous! I love her suit, and her attitude. I like the hem detail of her skirt, the lapel details on the jacket, and the blouse sets it all off.

#4 – 1915 Fashion Plate

All four ensembles in this plate are lovely, but the dark purple skirt with pale purple blouse on the left speak to me. I love the tiers on the skirt, along with the shoulder straps. I may just have to find some light weight purple wool to recreate this one. 😉

#3 – 1915 Cranberry Wool Suit

I love the cranberry color of this suit, it reminds me of the cranberry wool I used in my suit. I really like the embroidery detail on the front, and all of the buttons. This is another one that I would love to recreate.

#2 – 1915 Skirt and Blouse Ensemble 

I love everything about this outfit. The pocket and skirt yoke details are a great touch, and the pale blue accent color on the blouse keeps it light and lovely. This one is definitely on my recreate list.

And, finally…

#1 – 1915 Linen Crepe Dress

This is a lovely example of an original garment. I love all of the details on this dress. It makes for the perfect summer dress.

Did you like this week’s picks? Are there any of these that inspire you? Have some that you would like to share? Please comment and tell me. To comment, just click the heart in the top right corner of the post. I would love to hear from you. Until next time…. Happy Sewing!

Leave a Reply

