A week of hiccups!

Happy Wednesday after a holiday weekend! I missed doing “My Fave 5 Friday” last week, as it was a crazy week of hiccups. It started on Monday and just snowballed from there. The thing that threw off my whole week? Well, the hubby was involved in a car accident last Monday, on his way to school. He’s okay, but his car, not so much. Since then, it’s been trips to body shop, dealing with the responsible person’s insurance company, and setting up doctor appointments. I was finally able to take a break from it all on Saturday, and took my mom, the Teenaged Attitude and her bestie to Fair at New Boston, just on the other side of Springfield.

20160903_110713

I love going to this two day festival. I have missed the past two years, but definitely had a blast this year. Mom had never really been to a reenactment or festival of this type, so it was fun watching her jump every time the light artillery fired off the cannons. She was really fascinated by the ox that were pulling one of the carts around the grounds.

20160903_111239

We had lots of fun wandering through the tents looking at hats, fans, fabric, patterns, and all the other fun reenactment wares.

20160903_115700

20160903_134402

The only other festival mom has visited with me is the Ohio Renaissance Festival a couple of years ago, so I had fun explaining the era this festival was portraying (1790-1810), along with the how’s and why’s, and differences in some of the costumes different ladies were wearing.

20160903_124733

I turned the girls loose to wander as they pleased. They each had a bit of cash to feed themselves, and pick up any trinkets that caught their attention. After roaming as much as we wanted, having a bit of lunch, and then a bit of dessert before leaving, we headed out. On the way home, we decided to explore Buck Creek State Park a bit, just to see what the camping sites and cabins were like. When we first started holding our Regency Picnics, we held them at Buck Creek, at the picnic area close to the beach and boat launch (pictured below).

20160903_151655

All in all, it was a great day with mom and the girls. I even came home with some awesome stuff.

20160903_182709

Everything is in the photo above. I picked soap from a couple of vendors, a lovely silk fan and a quizzing glass (magnifier) from Daniel Boone of Kentucky, JP Ryan’s Fine Collection of Ladies’ Jackets pattern from a lovely stall, a shaped hat for my 18th c. hat collection, a nice guide book on 18th c. ladies’ dress (for ideas on future costumes), and some lip balm, deep tissue salve, and migraine salve from LBCC Historical Cosmetics (and now wishing I had picked up a few other things while I was there, lol).

On Sunday, the hubby and I met Miss PJ and her hubby out for brunch. Then, we dropped the menfolk off at my house to play video games while we made a quick (well, quick for us) trip to Target. Once we got back, we went down to the sewing room, and proceeded to take back Miss PJ’s sewing area, so she could get started on her Regency dress. After we got her table set up, I ironed her fabric and got my new set of stays cut out, and she decided to clear more space to set up a larger table for me to sew at, so I wouldn’t be stuck at my small travel table. I even have proof of her starting on her dress:

20160904_192552

 

After she went home, I finally got the sleeves to set correctly on my mustard colored half robe, and then called it quits for the night. Monday morning, I went back down and got started on my new set of stays. Miss Elma did come by and join me for the middle part of the day. By the time I shut down the sewing room, I had all three layers of my stays together. After dinner last night, I sat on the couch, pinning the three layers together and watching Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell on Netflix. This evening, I hope to get it stitched together, and the boning channels stitched in. That will just leave it for me to finish the stays, the skirts of the underdress, and the sleeves of the half robe. Good thing, too, since we only have a couple of weeks left, and I have a soap making class to teach this Saturday, while Miss PJ is out of town for a wedding. That means that next weekend will find us in the sewing room, finishing up everything. We are all looking forward to the picnic, as we all need the distraction right now. Once the picnic is out of the way, we have plans on pulling the sewing room apart, getting rid of the sofa and carpet, and putting it all back together the way we want it before we start out winter projects.

Did anyone else visit Fair at New Boston? Or another fun festival? If so, please comment, I would love to hear about. Until next time…. Happy Sewing!

Leave a Reply

