Making progress… well, a little

Life has gotten kind of crazy, again, and it’s slowed down sewing progress, that’s for sure. On Saturday, I had a cooking class to teach, so that meant no progress in the sewing room. However, I did make it down there on Sunday. I jumped in to finish up my new set of Regency stays. I only had the outer layer left to sew together, and then I was able to put them all together. I have everything lined up and was ready to start the boning channels.

IMG_20160821_172805

That’s where I hit a stumbling block. When cleaning and rearranging the sewing room, I know I cam across a bag full of the zip ties I use for boning, but now I can’t find it. I searched the room a couple of times over, found a few other things I was missing, but still no boning. I didn’t feel like running out to the hardware store right then, and decided that I still had stuff that I could work on to keep from losing precious sewing time. So, I pulled out the pre-washed, bleached muslin I had set aside for a new chemise, and got started.

IMG_20160821_172939

A short time later, and I finally have a sleeveless Regency chemise. Yay! Now, I just need to make a run to the hardware store to get some new zip ties (and then I’ll find the bag I was looking for, never fails!) so I can finish the stays. Once the stays are done, I can finish my under dress and move on to the half robes. The only plans I have for this weekend is to go see Wicked with the Teenaged Attitude on Friday night, and then I’m hitting the sewing room for the rest of weekend. I am determined to get as much done as I can, just in case I have to help someone with their dress before the picnic.

In other news, some fabric I ordered awhile ago for Miss PJ, Miss Elma and myself finally arrived on Saturday!

IMG_20160820_105116

There sits 20 yds of satin in each color. Miss PJ ordered the purple, Miss Elma ordered the silver, I ordered the green, and I got the black as a bonus. We will be making our new Victorian Late Bustle era gowns with all of this satin. I already have all of my patterns lined up, and will be starting on my set of black cotton undergarments, along with a new emerald green corset, after I’m done with my Regency sewing. I can’t wait to get started! Is anyone else working on, or getting ready to start a new Victorian costume? Please comment and share, or leave a link to your blog, as I just love seeing other’s beautiful costumes. Until next time… Happy Sewing!

Leave a Reply

