My Fave 5 Friday – Blogger Made Costumes

Hi Friday, everyone! It’s the end of the work week, and I’m sure we are all ready for the weekend, so what better way to end the week than with some awesome costumes! This week I have picked 5 of my absolute favorite blogger made costumes. Now, let me say that it was very, very, very hard to narrow it down to just five. It took me a very long time to decide on exactly which ones to pick. So, here they are:

#5 – Before the Automobile’s 1887 Dress

Photo found here

Photo found here

This costume has two of my favorite things going for it – 1) It’s Victorian and 2) Stripes! When it comes to historical costumes, stripes drawl me in like a June bug to a front porch lamp after dark. lol. Her work is beautiful. Just looking at her photos, you could almost think you are looking back in time.

#4 – American Duchess’ Revolution Dress

Photo found here

Photo found here

Lauren of American Duchess fame has made some fabulous dress. And, again, it was very hard to pick just one, but I think this is it. Red is one of my favorite colors, and I love 18th century dress. The white petticoat helps to accentuate the red color, and the lace along the neckline is just lovely.

#3 – Historial Sewing’s 1887 Summer Berry Trifle Dress

Photo found here

Photo found here

Jennifer is another amazingly talented costumer. Her costume portfolio is stunning. But, of all of them, this is the one that caught my attention. I know, it’s another stripey Victorian, but I can’t help it! It’s so lovely. The color combination is perfect, and I love the hat she made to go with it.

#2 – Koshka the Cat’s 1770’s Polonaise

Photo found here

Photo found here

Kathryn’s lovely 1770’s Polonaise is part of what inspired me to make my 1770’s Polonaise. The easy elegance of her dress caught my attention the very first time I saw it, and reminded me of the pattern that I had always wanted to use. I was even lucky enough to find a bolt of fabric close in color to her’s.

And, we have reached……

#1 – Festive Attyre’s Edwardian Half Mourning Dress

Photo found here

Photo found here

Jen’s Edwardian Half Mourning dress is an amazing reproduction of a fashion plate. And, she just looks incredible in it. Every detail is perfect. So much inspiration in one photo.

So, there you have my Fave 5 for this week. Please comment to tell me what your favorites are, I would love to hear from you. Also, I know I haven’t posted a regular post in a while, but keep watching this space! I have a couple of fun posts lined up for next week. Until next time….. Happy Sewing!

 

2 thoughts on “My Fave 5 Friday – Blogger Made Costumes

  1. Thank you so much for including me in your list! I am very honored to be among those that I also admire in the costuming world.
    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

