Progress during some down time

I don’t usually get to take much time off of work, as we are a small office, and there’s a lot to be done. However, our company has an accrual system for vacation time (for someone that have over 10 yrs in, like I do, we stop accruing at 200 hours until we use some), and sometimes I have take time to keep the accruals moving. This was the case recently, and I was off of work yesterday and the day before. This meant a four day weekend, plenty of sewing time. Or so I thought.  My Saturday was spent on much needed time with my best friend. With the way our weekend schedules have been lately, we haven’t spent hardly any time together. And what did we do? Shopping, of course! We started out at the fabric store, as I needed to get the snaps for my princess slip and lots of lace trim for my Edwardian underthings. I pretty much stuck to my list, until I found a cute little straw cloche that would be perfect for my Gatsby dress.

A lovely summer cloche

A lovely summer cloche

I was a little surprised to find that it was made by Simplicity, and was only $15. Even better that I have a 40% off coupon. So, into the cart it went. From there, we ended up hitting two  more craft stores. While we were in the second craft store we started getting messages from the men folk that they were starving. So, we called for pizza, hit the big box store for drinks and snacks, and headed off to pick up pizza. While we were in the tiny strip mall (and I mean tiny, like 4 businesses in it), we decided to stop at a new meat jerky outlet to see what they had. I had heard a rumor that they made some really, really, really spicy beef jerky, and this sounded like something the guys would love. So, we picked up a bag of the hottest stuff they had. Later, my husband accused me of trying to kill him. LOL! The one I got was called Diablo, and was apparently hot enough that it affected my hubby the next day. But, needless to say, I didn’t get any sewing accomplished on Saturday. On Sunday, the hubby decided it was time to finally go see Deadpool, so we caught a late morning matinee. As it was a rainy afternoon when we got home, I sat down to sew the snaps on my Princess slip, and then curled up on the couch and napped as the hubby played video games. So, yeah, the only sewing I got done was to get the snaps on the slip, which is now finished. Yay! On Monday, after the hubby got out the door to work, and the teen-aged attitude got on the bus for school, I curled up on the couch and tried to watch some of my shows from the dvr queue, from behind my eyelids. lol. That didn’t last too long, as I had a quick trip to the office supply store to make. So, I was out the door early, hit the office supply store and the grocery store for dinner, and then headed home to get down to some serious sewing.

Time to get down to business!

Time to get down to business!

I decided to work on the petticoat from Folkwear # 203 for my Edwardian Underthings. Since I had spent the evenings last week cutting everything out, I was able to pull out which garment I wanted to work on, and get started. I moved my machine to the opposite end of the table (so I could see the tv), turned on Indian Summer, and got started around 11 am. At about noon I was to the point of putting in the placket on the back of the petticoat, and knocked off for lunch. After a yummy lunch of leftovers, I started back in. I didn’t take too long before I had the dust ruffle on the bottom.

20160314_172240

Up next was the ruffle, with it’s layers of pin tucks, it’s lace inserts, and the lace ruffle along the bottom. But, I only got the pin tucks done after that, as one of the panels wanted to fight with me on the placement of my pencil lines. No matter what I did, they just didn’t want to line up like the other panels. So, after much cursing and re-drawing of the lines, I said forget it, made sure the marks at the very ends of the panel lined up with the other panels, and sewed them together. After that was when I sat down to start the slow process of pinning each tuck, one at a time, and sewing them, one at a time.

Miles and mile of pin tucks

Miles and mile of pin tucks

That was all I got done on Monday. Yesterday saw another trip to the store for supplies I needed for my cooking class I had to teach last night. In between baking up, and cooking up, a few samples for the class, I worked on the lace insert.

20160315_141643

I have never done a lace insert before. I have done lace overlays, but not inserts. I found that I really liked it, and loved the way it turned out.

20160315_143537

You can see in the photo above where my lines just didn’t want to line up for my pin tucks, but I whipped them into submission. 😉 I still had time before my class, so I hemmed up the ruffle real quick. After I got home, I decided to go ahead and get the lace sewn to the hem of the ruffle. Here is the ruffle, hanging over my petticoat, waiting to be gathered and sewn on.

20160315_214849

Tonight I will sit down after dinner, and get this finished off so I can move on to the drawers and camisole. It feels good to finally make some progress. I am getting more and more excited to get this costume finished. Hopefully, the next post will see all but the corset done on the undergarments. I still need to find some spare fabric to make the mock up of the corset, and then pick the actual fabric I’ll be using. So, until next time…. Happy Sewing!

Leave a Reply

