Lost things become found, and pattern stash enhancement (again)

Several years back, my mom gifted with some family heirlooms that she was on the verge of selling. They were ambrotypes of some unknown ancestors. I had carefully wrapped them up, and stored them in the corner hutch in the great room. A couple of weeks ago, I decided to pull them out and look them over, but when I opened the hutch, they were gone. It was another case of “I moved it – where did I put it?”. Well, I found them last week, in the corner of the sewing room, near the temporary home of all my patterns, and came across them when I went down to pull patterns for my 1912 suit (I was silly and filed them away when I reorganized the patterns last month). I was excited and immediately unpacked them to look them over. In the original post, I did say that I wanted to re-create the dress that the young lady wore, and have now decided that it will probably go on my 2017 costume project list. I think I have even found the pattern I want to use for it. I have decided that I will be using a Simplicity pattern (at this point, anyway. We all know how fickle I can be when it comes to planning a project that isn’t going to be made right away, lol). It is a pattern that was originally OOP (out of print), but I have recently found it on their site in their Premium Print On Demand patterns. I’m actually kind of impressed that they have started this service. In my opinion, their quality of patterns has lapsed a bit in the past couple of years, and with so many good patterns that were made OOP in the years that I couldn’t afford to buy/wasn’t collecting patterns, this service offers up a chance to pick up a few of them. At first, I was a little taken aback by the prices, but when I read the description of the service, then I could justify paying the prices for patterns from one of the “Big 3”. Besides, some of the prices for the original patterns on eBay far surpass the price I’m willing to pay for a pattern made from the typical tissue paper, no matter how much I like it, or how long ago it was made OOP. Here is the photo that I want to recreate:

DSCN1976

I know that the fabric needs to be dark in color (black, navy blue, deep burgundy, or dark forest green) with a small floral or polka dot print. I will now be on the look out for fabric, and I’m leaning more toward navy blue or black. The fun part will be seeing what I can come up with. The pattern that I will be using (at this point) will be Simplicity PPOD EA455101. From the look of the photo, I will be using view A with the sleeve caps from view C. In the meantime, I have been researching to see if I can better pin point the year this photo was taken. If anyone has any ideas, please comment and let me know. Any and all help is greatly welcomed and appreciated.

As for pattern stash enhancement, I was out with my mom this past Saturday, and she said she had to go to the fabric store to get some thread. Let me just say it was a happy accident. When we wondered in, I made a bee line straight for the pattern section. Lo and behold, McCalls patterns were on sale! Yay! I was able to pick up the archive patterns that I have been wanting, especially since I will be using one of them for part of my Gatsby costume.

PhotoGrid_1456854098723

With all these new patterns, guess I need to start making progress on all of the planned projects, huh? So, until next time…. Happy Sewing!

Leave a Reply

