Socks, socks and more socks!

So, March has shaped up to be an eventful month. Some good, some not so good. But, that’s life. So, let’s start with the good. 😉

The return of my sock knitting obsession is still in full swing. Since the last post, I have finished 3 pairs of socks, and started another pair over the weekend. Here is what we have:

Fruit Stripe Gum Socks

Fruit Stripe Gum Socks

Specs:
Pattern: Fruit Stripe Gum Socks
Yarn: Knit Picks Felici (Discontinued)
Colorway: Foxglove
Needles: US 1 Knit Picks Rainbow DPN’s
Started: 3/5/14
Finished: 3/9/14
Notes: Knit as per pattern. And let me just say that this is a really fun pattern to knit. A great pattern for self-striping yarns. These were made for my best friend, Miss PJ, for her birthday.

Arrow Lace Socks

Arrow Lace Socks

Specs:
Pattern: Hiya Hiya Arrow Lace Socks I (Cuff down)
Yarn: Lorna’s Lace Shepard Sock Multi
Colorway: Mixed Berries
Needles: US 0 Brittany DPN’s
Started: 2/9/14
Finished: 3/12/14
Notes: This was a test knit. While I did like the pattern, it was a bit big, despite being knit on size 0 needles.

Pink Ribbon Socks

Pink Ribbon Socks

Specs:
Pattern: Pink Ribbon Socks
Yarn: Knit Picks Stroll
Colorway: Rouge
Needles: US 1 Knit Picks DPN’s
Start: 3/12/14
Finish: 3/21/14
Notes: These were made on commission. I was asked to only do 1 repeat of the Ribbon pattern. I love the texture of the seed stitch on each side of the Ribbon section. When I first started knitting socks (way back when), I had tried to knit this pattern, but wasn’t very good at reading charts, so I gave up. Now that I have made a pair, I really like this pattern, and will most likely be making more.

These are my finished socks for this month, so far. lol. These make pairs # 8, 9, and 10 toward my goal of 20 for the year. I am more than on track, and look to over shoot my goal, which is always a good thing. I have started another pair on commission. These are being made for a co-worker. I have the first sock complete, and started the second sock last night. I do hope to have these done no later than tomorrow, so I can keep working as I still have 5 more pairs that are on commission. Plus, I do have a few pairs that I want to make for myself, and after a quick peek at my stash on Ravelry, I see that I have enough sock yarn to knit up 92+ pairs. Wow! That’s a lot. 😉

Other than all the sock knitting, I did get to go out with my best friend for her birthday. We did a late lunch at The Jury Room in downtown Columbus, then made our way to Easton Town Center for some shopping and a late dinner. The husbands and Miss Tammi joined us. It was a blast!

Now, for the bad. I had to put my car into the shop last week. Good thing is, the guys I work with have the hook up for a great mechanic. I dropped it off Thursday afternoon, he started on it Friday morning, bright and early, and it was done by end of business. Which really amazes me. Had I taken it to the dealership, it probably would’ve taken several days, and cost me twice as much. Granted, it cost me a pretty penny to get it fixed, but the mechanic didn’t take advantage of me like the dealership would’ve. So, even though I didn’t pay out as much as I could’ve, it was still a lot. Good thing I have all the sock yarn in my stash, because it looks like I’ll be knitting from there for a while. 😉

Well, until next time…. Happy knitting & sewing!

Leave a Reply

