Miles and miles of knitting

With this winter being exceptionally brutal in Ohio, and I have spent a lot more time tucked under blankets knitting happily than any other winter I can remember. So far, since the start of 2014, I have made 6 pairs of socks, started a 7th pair, and have just about finished an afghan that turned out to be much larger than I expected. I have calculated that I have knit about 3 1/2 miles worth of yarn at this point in the year. Not bad for only being about 8 or so weeks into the year. 😉 Still in the works are plans for another baby blanket, finishing up an afghan like the huge one I have just about completed, a small blanket for Jellybean, a replacement scarf for one of my favorites that vanished a few years ago, a few baby toys, a couple pairs of felted slippers, a soft and colorful cowl, and many more pairs of socks as I work toward my 2014 Sock Knitting Project goal of at least 20 pairs. So, I think I’m off to a good start for this year’s knitting goals.

And, speaking of knitting, I haven’t been lonely when I sit down to knit. Little Miss Jellybean has been keeping me faithful company whenever I work on one of the Hue Shift Afghans.

IMG_20140223_151325_121

 

It never fails. The afghan comes out, and she settles in on it. She is such a little cutie, but it makes it hard to work on the project. She always looks so peaceful, I dread disturbing her so I can move it around to keep working. Other than that, she has really developed her little personality. She plays with the “old man”, Vinny, all the time. They wrestle all over the house, and steal each other’s toys. Although she did take it a little personally when he took off with her brand new crinkle fish. Later that night, when we went to bed, we found that she has taken his favorite cat nip turtle and hid it, in our bed, between the pillows. lol. Guess she felt it was only fair.

Other than knitting, there really hasn’t been much going on. Well, other than falling prey to the illness that’s going around the office. I ended up leaving work early on Friday with a fever of 101.4. That just wasn’t fun. Turns out that my doctor was out for the week, and I ended up at the urgent care, only to find out that I had an acute viral URI. Yuck! Nothing to do for that but take cough syrup and try to sleep through it. Needless to say, that didn’t work very well. Three days later, and I still feel completely exhausted. I think I slept a total of 3 hours each night for the past 3 nights. And, it’s not as if I’m not tired, because I really, really am. For some reason, I just can’t sleep. I so wish I could take a nap at my desk today. But anyway. Until next time, I’ll say Happy Knitting and Sewing!

Leave a Reply

