Summer Round Up (Warning – Photo Heavy Post)

My summer was like a run-a-way train. Before I knew what was happening, it was full speed ahead, and then gone. We did manage to have some summer adventures. We had good times, and a few bad. But, all in all, it was a good summer. Here are some highlights of what happened:

Adena Mansion & Gardens 2013 – August 17th

We made a family trip back to the Adena Mansion. This trip around it was Miss Elma, along with her hubby all of their kiddies, my hubby, Annie and myself. There wasn’t an event, we just went so we could look over the museum, stroll the grounds and take a tour of the house. This time around, we go to see all the rooms of the house, with the exception of the servants quarters. Maybe one day I’ll be able to talk someone into letting me have a peek into those rooms. Here are a few photos:

The kids, looking over a scale model of the original grounds.

The kids, looking over a scale model of the original grounds.

My husband, wearing his kilt and showing off his sexy legs.

My husband, wearing his kilt and showing off his sexy legs.

The kitchen in the main house.

The kitchen in the main house.

The kids, racing across the grounds.

The kids, racing across the grounds.

Amish Country Shopping Trip – August 3rd

We took a pleasant shopping trip to Amish country in north eastern Ohio. We hit most of our favorite places: the cheese factory, Breitenbach Winery, Swiss Family Heritage Winery and Walnut Creek Grocery. This trip included Miss PJ, her hubby, her youngest son, Katie, Annie, my hubby and myself. Here are a few highlights from that trip:

Katie, Annie, Mr. PJ and their youngest.

Katie, Annie, Mr. PJ and their youngest.

The husbands, relaxing for a bit.

The husbands, relaxing for a bit.

The front of Guggisberg Cheese Factory

The front of Guggisberg Cheese Factory

Breitenbach Winery

Breitenbach Winery

The Fair at New Boston – August 31st

We managed to make it The Fair at New Boston this year. We had a great time. It was much larger than I expected. I was very impressed with the vendors and the goods they offered. We tried to make sure we saw the whole event, including the camp sites and the Native American village. We had lunch, and they were serving some of my favorites (namely: pintos beans with ham and corn bread. Yum!). The prices on their foods and beverages were more than fair. I did buy several things to toss into my costuming kit, and I probably spent more than I should have, but….. It was fun! 😉 Here are a few highlights from that trip:

Entering the event. And, this was only half of the view.

Entering the event. And, this was only half of the view.

Part of the Native American village.

Part of the Native American village.

Annie and her bestie, enjoying the giant turkey legs.

Annie and her bestie, enjoying the giant turkey legs.

My husband, enjoying a giant turkey leg.

My husband, enjoying a giant turkey leg.

The straw hats I have been looking for, in both 20" and 18".

The straw hats I have been looking for, in both 20″ and 18″.

Paper parasol.

Paper parasol.

Sugar cone and teas from the Revolution.

Sugar cone and teas from the Revolution.

Sandlewood fan, paper fan, brick tea and solid lotion bar.

Sandlewood fan, paper fan, brick tea and solid lotion bar.

My prize purchase: a historically accurate tea set.

My prize purchase: a historically accurate tea set.

As for other highlights from the summer, we did make a couple of other trips back to the Ohio Village, we got Katie settled into her dorm at Wittenberg, and the other trips that I spoke of in the past couple of posts. Now, to a bit of bad.

My newest baby is my cat, Cerridwen. We brought her home in July of 2012, and she has been a source of constant joy for me, and of some pain and irritation for my husband (he calls her Ninja Kitty for a reason, and has all the claw marks to prove it). A few weeks ago, she started acting a bit odd. She would get in my lap while I was knitting and just stare at me. A little over a week ago, on a Friday night (the second night she had done this), I looked at my husband and told him that there was something wrong with her. He tried to distract me and say that she was perfectly fine. But, I just knew deep down inside, there was something wrong with my baby. I called a local vet the very next morning and got her an appointment. When I took her in for the appointment, I thought that maybe we were just dealing with a UTI, as she showed all the symptoms. I was not prepared for what they told me. After a quick blood test, the vet said that my little baby had Feline Leukemia, and it was being made worse by the UTI that I suspected she had. The vet did say that if we could get her past the UTI, she could live a relatively happy life for a while longer, another 3+ years. This gave me some hope, even though I had cried enough to use the entire box of tissues sitting on the counter in the examine room. So, the vet sent us home with some liquid antibiotics and steroids. But, she had quickly became so sick that she had lost all appetite, and just wasn’t eating more than a tablespoon a day. Another call to the vet brought home some anti-nausea meds and an appetite enhancer. Let me just say that having for force several cc’s of liquid meds, followed by a couple small pills, into my poor kitty, twice a day, is no walk in the park. Here we are, nine days later and she is feeling a little better. She is back to sleeping in bed with me, eating closer to her normal amount of food, and staying awake longer than to just walk across the room. She has become a bit too skinny from the couple of days we couldn’t get her to eat, but I keep praying that she’ll start putting the weight back on faster.

Ceri, the day I took her to the vet.

Ceri, the day I took her to the vet.

I am trying to keep a positive attitude until we get her back in for her check up visit next week. Oh. And after hearing the diagnosis, we now understand why she is so small. From what the vet says, she more than likely contracted the condition from her mother, which affected her growth from the very beginning, making her much smaller than a normal cat. My poor wee one. However, I have every hope that she will recover from her UTI and that we can keep her Feline Leukemia in check, so that we can have many more years with her. And, I hope she gains back the weight she has lost and gets back to attacking my poor, unsuspecting husband when he least expects it.

As for my crafting endeavors, I have been productive, in some ways. While I still haven’t made it back into the sewing room, I have been knitting. With the shift in the seasons (and I can almost feel the exact moment when it shifted from summer to fall), I felt the urge to start knitting. Of course, it does help that two of my three younger sisters are expecting babies. lol. The youngest of the three is due in November, and the oldest is due in January. I have things planned for both babies, and am well on my way for the items for my newest nephew due in November. Next week, we hopefully find out what the other baby will be, and then I can start my planning. But, I will talk more about all of that in my next post.

Speaking of my poor neglected blog, I do have plans to keep up with it better. I have found a way to pull in my Crafting ADD brain, and keep myself on track. I plan on posting at least once a week, if not more, when I can. So, in the next post, you can look forward to:

Fall Adventures
Knitting Updates
Cerridwen updates

Until next time…. Happy Sewing!

Leave a Reply

