Goodies in the mail

I had a couple of Barnes & Nobles gift cards just sitting in my wallet. They were waiting. Waiting to become something fun. So, about two weeks ago, I decided to let them have their way. The husband and I got online and started shopping. Since I had about $50 to spend, I let him have first pick. He settled on A Gateway to Sindarin. No surprise that my comic book/zombie apocalypse author husband would want to learn to speak Elvish from LotR. lol. But, if it makes him happy. I, on the other hand, found a couple of things that make me happy!

IMG_20130612_183126_436

 

As you can see, I picked up a couple of Dover books on Victorian and Turn of the Century Fashion Patterns, to help expand my dressmaking library. I stalked the mail box until they arrived mid-week last week. I brought the box into the house, and didn’t say a word to the hubby until after I had it opened. I handed him his book, and tucked myself up on the end of the couch to greedily devour the new content. I was so absorbed with each design and the pattern pieces that go with them, that I ended up having to replay the episode of Dr. Who we were watching. After going through each book (a couple of times) I pulled out my handy-dandy stack of small sticky notes, and started marking the pages for the designs that I eventually want to try. So, needless to say, there are a ton of sticky notes hanging out the top of the books. lol. When I’m ready to come back to this era of costuming, I have a laundry list of garments to make. It will just be a matter of trying to decide where to start.

In other sewing news, what little there is, I still haven’t gotten around to my 1920’s costume. Which is a shame, as my birthday is this weekend. But, there is still time for me to try to pull something off, since what I have in mind is very simple. Maybe I’ll take some time out from the hectic pace at work tomorrow to hit the fabric store for my lining material. We’ll see. If I can’t get to it before Sunday, I do have several days off in a few weeks and it will be first up on the sewing block. So, until next time…… Happy Sewing!

Leave a Reply

