New Thrift Store Finds

This evening, we had to make a stop at the thrift store. Katie has to dress up this Friday for school, but she has dropped about 30 lbs from marching band this summer. She is now in a size 6, and had nothing that fit. So, while she browsed for something nice, I decided to look around. Here is what I found:

Vintage Simplicity Pattern

I found a vintage Simplicity pattern. It is # 4796. The pouch is a little worse for wear. But, it was too tempting to pass up. It’s a Junior size 11, bust measurement of 31 1/2″.

 

Upon closer inspection, it is missing only one piece, the back neck facing of the shirt. And, the pattern pieces for the shorts have been expanded using newspaper and straight pins (as seen above). I can’t find a date on the pattern, anywhere, but from the design, it appears to be from the 1960’s. I may have to make this for Annie next summer.

 

Vintage McCall’s Pattern

I also found this vintage McCall’s pattern. It is # 6891, and is a Laura Ashley design from 1979 in a size 8. It looks like it will make a cute girls Regency dress, and even has the purse and bonnet patterns. At a quick glance, it all appears to be there. This will go into the stash, maybe to be used if I make anymore Regency dresses for little girls.

Pattern instructions for vintage Simplicity pattern

I also found just the instructions for vintage Simplicity 6434. I wish I had found the pattern, but it was nowhere to be seen.This pattern was from 1966, and looks adorable. Maybe I can draft a new pattern off of the illustration of the pattern pieces.

Besides the few patterns I found, I also picked up a lovely white tea pot, a couple of silver plated candleabras, a copper jello mold. Oh! And Katie found a couple of cute dress outfits. I guess mission accomplished, and then some. 😉

 

Leave a Reply

