Regency Inspiration

Lately, I have been on bit of a Regency kick when it comes to making costumes. If it isn’t from the Regency era, I haven’t the motivation to work on it. lol.  After deciding to put together wardrobes for each era, Angie and I made lists of garments that we each wanted in our individual wardrobes, and checking off what we have already made. Of these eras, the Regency era seems to be a favorite of both Angie and myself. This year, for our 4th annual Regency Picnic, I made myself a plain white Regency dress. This helped to check another item off of my list. (you can read about this dress in the diary pages, listed in the side bar) However, my list is still a little on the long side. lol. And, what I saw last week didn’t help it get any shorter.

While I was skimming through all the blog posts in my Google Reader, I came across this:

February 1801 Fashion Plate at LACMA

I just love this! Being of Scottish decent, this just calls to me. I’m not so sure about the puff sleeves on the under dress, as I am not a big fan of puff sleeves on my Regency dresses, but I’m willing to at least make a mock up to see how it looks. But, I digress. I found this lovely bit of inspiration on The Dreamstress‘ blog, in her Rate The Dress feature. Granted, I forgot to leave a comment with my thoughts, but it definitely caught my eye. So, here’s a new item for my wardrobe list. Now, I just need to find the perfect fabric to recreate it with. So, until next time….. Happy Sewing!

2 thoughts on “Regency Inspiration

Leave a Reply

