Old West Festival and Finished Costumes

This past Saturday, we went to the Old West Festival in Williamsburg, Ohio. Despite the fact that it was chilly, windy and muddy, we had a blast. This is a relatively new festival, this being the 4th year, but it has plenty of room to grow. We did have a great time, and enjoyed the shows, what we were able to catch of them. lol. They had gunfights in the middle of Main Street, along with target shooting demos. There was a magic show in the main saloon. The food was good. There was onion rings, fries, BBQ pulled pork and chicken sandwiches, rattle snake chili, alligator and ostrich jerky, cotton candy, pop corn, funnel cakes and these tasty things called Saratoga chips. Can you tell that I really enjoyed the food? lol. I was able to enjoy a beer in the smaller saloon, and bought some herbs at one of the shops. All in all, a great day, even though we didn’t get to dress up. 😦 Oh! And I forgot my camera, so no pics.  However, my sister did get some. You can see her pics on her blog The Merry Dressmaker.

As for the costumes, I did everything done in time, just in time. lol. Annie’s dress turned out nicely. I have update the page for it on the side bar (Victorian Girl’s Outfit). She was very disappointed that she didn’t get to wear it on Saturday, but I am planning an outing to a local pioneer village, maybe this weekend so we can get some better pics than those taken late at night. But, I do like the look of this dress. I also want to make a few of the other options for this pattern.

As for the garments for my hubby. I love the way they turned out. I made him a shirt and waist coat. Then I improvised a satin tie to look like the one on the pattern envelope. I want to make him the frock coat in the near future, as well as a few more shirts and waist coats. He did look very dapper in his new duds, but was also very disappointed that we didn’t get to dress up. I also updated the page on the side bar for his outfit (Victorian Men’s Old West Outfit).

Besides the costumes I finished Friday night, I also made myself a new Victorian hat. I really wasn’t happy with the one I made for the EP Tipsy Tea, so I decided that a new one was in order. The one I made with go with either my Tea Ensemble or by Cotton Day Dress. I didn’t take me long to get it done, and I really like how it turned out. As you can see in the pic above, it’s a small-ish style top hat, with blue and white tulle, white plumes, off white large flowers, and baby’s breath around the crown. I can see making several more of these. 😉

Well, until later….. Happy Sewing!

Leave a Reply

