A Picnic! What a capitol idea!

It’s getting to be that time of year, again. One of our favorite events is quickly approaching, and I am just getting started on the costumes I need. lol. The 3rd Annual Emerald Parlor Regency Picnic is just about upon us. This year, I have to make Annie a new costume, but considering she’s 10, that will be the case for several more years. And even though I have two gowns that I made for myself from the previous picnics, I want to make another for this year. There are a couple of reasons for that. For one, the dress from the first picnic, as lovely as the fabric was, was not very flattering to my robust figure. Plus, I don’t feel like wearing last year’s dress. So, I will be using some fabric Angie gave me a while back. This year, I will be making a wrapper dress. I have the design sketched out, and I can’t wait to start it.

Along with a new gown, I will be making myself a new set of undergarments. The chemise I made last year is still in good shape, but I would like another, one made from natural linen. My stays are another story all together. lol. I made them a little early last year, and dropped some weight. Granted, I have gained the weight back, but they don’t fit correctly. That means it’s time for a new set. This set will also be made out of natural linen. Last night I was able to get a couple lengths of linen cut and pre-shrunk, and I just finished ironing the really bad wrinkles out so I can get started on the chemise tomorrow night. I plan on spending the weekend working on my undergarments, and Annie’s new dress. It’s been a while since I have been able to buckle down and really spend some quality time with my machine, Anne. This weekend, I plan on spending lots of time with her. lol. I will take plenty of pics. So, until later….. Happy Sewing!

Leave a Reply

