Upgrading to very little progess

Me, in my undergarments - How Scandalous!

After several weeks of making great progress on the weekends, this past weekend the other shoe dropped, so to speak. PJ and I were down to just the bodice and accessories left to make. This was to be the weekend that would put us to ease. But, the cosmos had other plans for us. And, was it ever a doozy!

R.I.P Easter Egg - Thank you for 6 long years of service

I was on my way to work Friday morning, when the unthinkable happened. I was in a particularly busy section of the downtown freeway, when my car died on a ramp. I had just enough time to pull it into the breakdown lane, or what little there is on that ramp. The first thing I did was to call my husband and my mom, that way they would know where I was if something happened. Then I called the road side assistance to a tow truck. Thirty minutes later, my poor little Kia Rio Cinco was on the back of a flat bed. I had it towed to the office, as it was the closest, safest place for it. Plus, I had to be at work anyway. From there, I had to have it towed to the dealership. I tried to concentrate on work as best I could, all things being considered. Late that afternoon, the service department called to tell me that what I thought it was (a dead fuel pump) wasn’t what it was. It was much worse. The timing belt broke and bent the pistons. My car was dead! My options were to replace the engine for $5000, or trade it in for what I could and buy a new car. Needless to say, I was distraught for the rest of the day, and I don’t distress easily. I may get stressed, but I don’t distress easily. This leads to the second part of my story.

Say Hello to my little friend!

Saturday morning found me at the dealership, test driving new cars. Granted, I needed a new car, I just didn’t want to get one this way. My first test drive was brand spanking new Soul. Awesome vehicle, but there was no way I could afford the monthly payments. I then looked over all the used cars they had. I finally settled for something close, but still very different from what I had. So, after about six hours at the dealership, I ended up with a new (to me) car. I ended up with a sporty, little Spectra 5. This one has a standard engine, which means I will be spending the rest of the week taking the back roads to work, until I get used to the clutch.

So, due to the “Great Car Crisis of 2011”, we didn’t get a thing accomplished on Saturday, once I got back from the buying the new car. This trend carried over to Sunday. On Sunday, all we were able to do was hit JoAnn’s to get more trim for PJ’s overskirt, and to cut out everything for the bodices. We will be working on those this Saturday. And, as this is the last weekend before the Tipsy Tea, we can’t let anything slow us down. I so can’t wait for my vacation time next week…..

2 thoughts on “Upgrading to very little progess

    • Thank you, Abigail! And I love my Kia. That was Kia #7 for my family to purchase from that dealer. You’re absolutely right, they are such solid cars. I put well over 100,000 miles on the poor car in 6 years, so it was only a matter of time. It will be missed.

Leave a Reply

