We partied like it was 1799!

The ball was a blast! We had so much fun.We drank, and we ate. We ate, and we drank. lol. We had some of our favorite wines. We had platters of meats, cheeses, fruits and veggies. I now have a new favorite snack. My sister made this awesome German raspberry/currant compote that was just yummy with roast beef and brie. YUMMY! I couldn’t get enough of that one. We had some lovely Mozart playing in the background, as the kids danced and played and us ladies sat around laughing and chatting. And, as you can see in the pic on the left, the dresses were smashing! All in all, it was a success. We partied until well after dark. And, of course, the neighbors were very nosy. One woman even sent her little girl up to the window to take a peek to see what was going on. Then, we ladies had to take a moon lit stroll around the pond. We did startle a couple of guys, as they came out of their condo, and we were standing at one end of the pond chatting, while sipping wine.

Of course, after dark was when things got a little spooky. Let me give you a little info on this venue. This is the office/party house of my mother-in-law’s condo complex. It’s very cheap, one low rate for the entire day. This is the same venue that we used for our wedding. It has a nice patio, an in ground pool, and is beside the pond. Little did we know that it also came with paranormal activity!

After dark, we started hearing things from the lower level, where the restrooms are. First, Katie was down there by herself, and heard what sounded like someone dragging their feet on carpet in the ladies’ room. Only, there is no carpet in the ladies’ room. Then, when I sent her down to shut off the lights (while no one was down there, of course), and something started knocking on all the doors at her. Several people saw the dark shape of a man in the corner of the room, above the ladies’ room. Then, after we changed out of our gowns to go home, and where gathering everything up, we heard a blood curdling scream. It was only heard in the ladies’ room, as there were several people upstairs that didn’t hear it. When I looked around to make sure I wasn’t the only one that heard it, my sister, Angie, looked at me and said, “Yep, I heard it, too. Let’s get out of here.” Spooky! Don’t know what may have happened in the building, and don’t want to know. Sadly, I will have to find us a new venue, as we don’t really want to party with ghosts. 😦

On another note, we have decided that next years’ EP Costume Ball will be Antebellum/Civil War Era. Now, I get to make a hoop skirt. Woo Hoo! But, I have 2 costumes to make before that. The first is the EP 2nd Annual Ladies’ Tipsy Tea in May 14th. I have my Victorian ensemble all picked out, and part of my fabric (another great find at the fabric outlet in Amish Country), I just need to purchase the patterns, and the rest of the fabric. I’ll be starting on all of that in a couple of weeks. After that is the EP 3rd Annual Regency Picnic on Sept. 10th. In the mean time, I’ll be cleaning and organizing my sewing room, as Jane trashed the place while we were at the ball. Because, as you know, it’s always Jane’s fault. 😉

One thought on “We partied like it was 1799!

  1. Pingback: 21 June 2011 « Costumes or Bust!

Leave a Reply

